Robert A. Brooks Award, presented by Smithsonian Institution for excellence in administration, 1980

Fellow of the Academie de l’Air et de ‘Espace, , Toulouse, France, 1981

Best Foreign Book Award, Aero Club de France, for excellence in writing, 1982

Aviation and Space Weekly “Laurels” presented for contributions to aviation, 1983

Honorary Doctorate in Aeronautical Sciences, Salem University, West Virginia, 1985

Excellence in Journalism Award by Aviation/Space Writer’s Association for best fiction book of 1986

Excellence in Journalism Award by Aviation/Space Writers Association for best non-fiction book of 1986

James J. Streibig Award presented by Aviation/Space Writer’s Association, 1987

Cliff Henderson Award presented by National Aeronautic Association for contributions to aviation, 1987

Thomas McMean Memorial Cup Award, Antique Automobile Club of America, for best automobile book, 1989

“Aviation Expert in Residence”, the Discovery Channel, 1991-1993

Gill Rob Wilson Award, the Air Force Association’s Highest Honor in Arts and Science, 1997

Elder Statesman of Aviation Award, presented by National Aeronautic Association, 1998

Diploma de Paul Tissandier, presented by Federation Aeronautique Internationale, for service to aviation, 1998

Lauren D. Lyman Award presented fby Aircraft Industries Association for excellence in Journalism, 2005

President’s Award, National Aeronautic Association, for service to aviation, 2005

National Aviation Hall of Fame enshrinement, for multiple achievements in aviation, 2007

Air Force Association Lifetime Achievement Award, for leadership in aviation, 2010

Leave a Reply